episode #50: tap into the core – open level (60 min)


tap into the fire essence of your manipura chakra (3rd chakra).  this podcast is inspired by the 3rd chakra and we focus on various asanas to stimulate a powerful flow of energy. enjoy the class!

episode #50

below are a few notes about the manipura chakra.

–       Located between your navel and the bottom of your rib cage.

–       The 3rd chakra is the seat of your will and the manifestation of your power. Here lies your self-confidence, self-esteem, and your ability to make decisions. Out of balance you can be manipulative of others or easily controlled by others, suffer from digestive problems, eating disorders, poor body image, insecurity, and lack of drive and ambition (Tapas). Your self-confidence is threatened and you may have a fear of rejection.

–       The Navel Chakra is known as the fire of material consciousness. The”Agni” is located here, where the Prana and Apana meet, burning the rubbish (detoxifying). 

–       The organs governed by the third chakra are the kidneys, liver, gall bladder, spleen, stomach, small intestine, diaphragm, and solar plexus.

–       Asanas – Surya namaskar (Sun Salutation), Navasana/Boat, Ardha Navasana/Half Boat, and Urdhva Prasarita Padasana (Leg Lifts), Warrior poses, and twists.

–       Pranayama – Bhastrika Pranayama (Bellows Breath or Breath of Fire)

–       Kriyas – Fire twist, agni lunge

–       Essential Oils – Juniper, lavender, bergamot, rosemary. Also for aromatherapy: peppermint, bougainvillea, frangipani, ylang-ylang, cedar, clove

–       Gemstones – Amber, gold, yellow or citrine topaz, citrine, Tiger’s eye, gold calcite, gold, peridot, yellow tourmaline, Laguna agate, Labradorite, howlite, jasper, chalcedony, Morganite, heliodor, yellow sapphire

–       Symbolized by 10 petals arranged from right to left and is sometime referred as the chakra of attainment.



~ by Faith Hunter on December 21, 2010.

8 Responses to “episode #50: tap into the core – open level (60 min)”

  1. this podcast is just what I need for the new year! it is totally in line with my commitment goals 🙂 Blessings and thanks! Lina

  2. thanks sooo much Lina! Let me know if you have a request for a podcast.

  3. this is my first time exercising to a podcast…and I must say it way awesome! I loved it! Faith you have a great presence and calming voice. I am a beginner to intermediate, have been doing yoga on and off for almost 10 years but haven’t been able to find a class I can stick to. I think I have found it! I am going to tell all my friends about this website and your podcasts. Can’t wait to try a new one tomorrow! Thank you! Namaste.

  4. many thanks Kalina! your comment made me smile:) Namaste!!!

  5. Hey Faith,
    Question…so the podcasts aren’t videos? I would think it would be hard to work out to a podcast that only has voice and no video. Can you clue me in? Thanks:)
    Liz

  6. Hi Liz, I know it can be difficult to listen and flow along, but it can cost to produce quality video podcast. In order for us to provide these for free, individual teachers opt for audio podcast. There are a few studios that provide videos of classes, which are great. Also, I have live class videos that I partnered with Yoga Vibes to create – http://www.yogavibes.com/listings/instructors/faith-hunter/ . If there are sequences within the audio podcast that you can’t figure out, I can gladly create 2-5 minute clips of a set sequence. That what I’ve done with the video podcast I have posted. Hope this helps:) THANKS for listening to the podcast.

  7. Hi Faith,

    the podcast is not working for some reason. Any tips on making it work?

  8. Hi Saule! It works on my computers, so I’m not sure what’s happening. Give it a try by downloading it down from iTunes. Hope that helps:)

Leave a Reply

 
